## 19.6 Provinces and territories of Canada, dates of admission to Confederation, legislative processes by which admission was effected, present area and seat of government (concluded)

Province, territory or district	Date of admission or creation	Legislative process	Present area km²	Seat of provincial or territorial government	
Manitoba <sup>3</sup>	July 15, 1870	Manitoba Act, 1870 (SC 1870, e.3) and Imperial			
Balance Colombia	1.1 20 (00)	Order in Council, June 23, 1870	649 950	Winnipeg	
British Columbia	July 20, 1871	Imperial Order in Council, May 16, 1871	947 800	Victoria	
Prince Edward Island	July 1, 1873	Imperial Order in Council, June 26, 1873	5 660	Charlottetown	
Saskatchewan*	Sept. 1, 1905	Saskatchewan Act (SC 1905, c.42)	652 330	Regina	
Alberta4	Sept. 1, 1905	Alberta Act (SC 1905, c.3)	661. 190	Edmonton	
Newfoundland	Mar. 31, 1949	Newfoundland Act (formerly The British North	100 000	4.27.7	
NUMBER OF STREET	1 1 15 1056	America Act, 1949) (Br. Stat. 1949, c.22)	405 720	St. John's	
Northwest Territories <sup>5</sup>	July 15, 1870	Act of Imperial Parliament-Rupert's Land Act, 1868 (Br. Stat. 1868, c.105) and Imperial Order			
44.1.1.1.2	6 1 Just 97	in Council, June 23, 1870	3 426 320	Yellowknife	
Mackenzie <sup>6</sup>	Jan. 1, 1920 )		1 382 740		
Keewatin <sup>6</sup>	Jan. 1, 1920	Order in Council, Mar. 16, 1918	600 590		
Franklin <sup>6</sup>	Jan. 1, 1920		1 422 990		
Yukon Territory <sup>7</sup>	June 13, 1898	Yukon Territory Act, 1898 (SC 1898, c.6)	483 450	Whitehorse	
Canada			9 970 610 <sup>8</sup>		

<sup>1</sup> The area of Ontario was extended by the Ontario Boundaries Extension Act, 1912 (SC 1912, c.40).

<sup>2</sup> Extended by Quebec Boundaries Extension Act, 1912 (SC 1912, c.45).

Recalculated figures 1981.

## 19.7 Number of municipalities classified by type and size group, by province, as at Jan. 1, 1980-83

Year, type and size group	Nfld.	PEL	NS	NB	Que.	Ont.	Man.	Sask.	Alta.	BC	ΥT	NWT	Canada
1980													
TYPE													
Regional municipalities Metropolitan and regional	-	_	_	-	7.5	39	-	-	-	28	-	-	142
municipalities <sup>1</sup> Counties and regional	=	-	-	-	3	12	-	-	-	-	-	-	15
districts		9	-	-	72	27	-	-	-	28	-	-	127
Unitary municipalities	168	38	65	115	1,520	789	185	794	332	140	3	7	4.156
Cities <sup>2</sup>	2	1	3	6	65	47	5	11	10	33	2	1	186
Towns	166	8	38	21	195	144	35	138	107	11	1	5	869
Villages	_	29	-	88	247	120	35 40	346	167	58	-	1	1.096
Rural municipalities3	-	-	24	-	1.013	478	105	299	48	38	-	-	2,005
Quasi-municipalities <sup>4</sup>	140	-	-	-		11	17	_	19	329	4	18	538
Total	308	38	65	115	1,595	839	202	794	351	497	7	25	4,836

Extended by the Extension of Boundaries Act of Manitoba, 1881 and the Manitoba Boundaries Extension Act, 1912 (SC 1912, c.32).

<sup>\*</sup> Saskatchewan and Alberta created as provinces in 1905 from the area formerly comprised in the provisional districts of Assiniboia, Athabaska, Alberta and Saskatchewan established May 17, 1882 by minute of Canadian Privy Council concurred in by Dominion Parliament and Order in Council, Oct. 2, 1895.

in Council, Oct. 2, 1895.

By an Imperial Order in Council passed on June 23, 1870 pursuant to the Rupert's Land Act, 1868 (Br. Stat. 1868, c.105), the former territories of the Hudson's Bay Company known as Rupert's Land and the North-Western Territories were transferred to Canada effective July 15, 1870. These territories were designated as the North-West Territories by the Act of SC 1869, c.3, and as the North-West Territories by RSC 1906, c.62. By Imperial Order in Council of July 31, 1880 (effective Sept. 1, 1880), all British territories and possessions in North America not already included within Canada and all islands adjacent thereto (with the exception of the Colony of Newfoundland and its dependencies) were annexed to Canada and these additional territories were formally included in the North-West Territories by SC 1905, c.27. The province of Manitoba was formed out of a portion of the territories by the Manitoba Act, 1870 (SC 1870, c.3) and a further portion was added to Manitoba, Ontario and Quebec.

By SC 1876, c.21, a separate district to be known as the District of Keewatin was established and provision was made for the local government thereof. The Act was expressed to come into force by proclamation. It provided that portions of the District might be re-annexed to the North-West Territories by proclamation; in 1886 a portion of the District of Keewatin was re-annexed and in 1905 the entire Keewatin District was re-annexed. The Act of 1876 was never proclaimed. By Order in Council of May 8, 1882 the provisional districts of Assiniboia, Saskatchewan, Alberta and Alabaska were created for the convenience of settlers and for postal purposes. By Order in Council of Oct. 2, 1895 the further provisional districts of Ungava, Franklin, Mackenzie and Yukon were created. The boundaries of these provisional districts were re-defined by Order in Council of Dec. 18, 1897. Subsequently the Yukon Territory was formed, the provinces of Alberta and Saskatchewan were created and other portions of the territories were annexed to Quebec, Ontario and Manitoba. By Order in Council dated Mar. 16, 1918 (effective Jan. 1, 1920) the remaining portions of the Northwest Territories were divided into three provisional districts known as Mackenzie, Keewatin and Franklin.

The provisional district of Yukon established in 1895 was created a judicial district of the North-West Territories by proclamation issued pursuant to Sect. 51 of the North-West Territories Act (RSC 1886, c.50) on Aug. 16, 1897 and, by the Yukon Territory Act (SC 1898, c.6), was declared to be a separate territory.